Prezi.com – A great alternative to PowerPoint

I stumbled on my first Prezi.com presentation while looking through classroom 201X  blog, here’s the link: http://classroom201x.wordpress.com/ I was shocked at how easy it is to make really great presentations and set about making a very simple ‘correct the mistakes’ presentation to show to my ESOL students. I tried to embed the file below but I’m afraid you’ll have to click the link under it to get the prezi to play.

Here’s the link to watch the presentation at Prezi.com                                                                                                                                                            http://prezi.com/wmdto1doshgy/correct-the-sentences-for-esol-esl-and-efl/

Futher ideas

- next I’ll be asking my students to make their own prezi by signing up to http://www.prezi.com and following the online instructions and watching the video. Look out for it in my next blog.

Check out these other blogs about using Prezi

http://e-blahblah.com/index.php/2010/01/prezi-killed-powerpoint-how-to-integrate-prezi-in-the-classroom/ – introduction to Prezi

http://classroom201x.wordpress.com/2010/07/18/prezi-vs-powerpoint/ – which is best PowerPoint or Prezi?

2 Comments on “Prezi.com – A great alternative to PowerPoint”

  1. philb81 says:

    Thanks for the link Chris, this is how I think Prezi can develop – more as a teaching tool than for presentations…. and it’s probably easier to learn and plan things than Powerpoint… Thanks for your contribution, it’s got me thinking…

  2. Chris Speck says:

    This week I used Prezi (which I’m told is an amusing word in Latvian) with my students for the first time. As they were teenagers, they picked up the knack of using it in less than five minutes, and, what they didn’t know they worked out or simply asked. They made some pretty good presentations by ripping off pictures from Google and then presented them to the rest of the class. Once again, it wasn’t the technical skills and the presentation show that I was interested in, but the real communication between students as they chatted to each other exchanging information and presenting their ideas to each other.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,173 other followers