Teaching English/ESOL/ESL with SmartPhones – ten things I’d like to do.

In the UK you can get a smartphone for £100 and they are only going to get cheaper as more people want them. A device with a camera and video camera, access to the internet, with thousands of apps and the ability to share and recieve information will have a profound effect on education if we work with it. Here are some lessons I’d do if all my students had Android  powered Smartphones with access to the internet and cameras:

1. Mess about with googlemaps. I’d spend ten to fifteen minutes making a virtual tour of the town where we live and then ask students to log on and follow it in teams of two on their phones answering the questions I set them as they went. I actually did do this, but my students didn’t have the technology to access it. I’d go even further than this and get students to make their own tours on googlemaps with commentary, get other students to follow them and decide if they were good or bad.

2. Get students to take photos of things in pairs or teams, I blogged about this a long time ago here (click here to read it), I asked students to follow instructions to take snaps of various easy things like ‘a chair’ or ‘a book’ and then made it much harder by asking them to capture ‘sadness’ or ‘happiness’ to stretch their imagination. It worked really well and if we could do this with smartphones on the internet then we could instantly share the pictures on facebook or googledocs. I’d also get students to make films – something which I’m experimenting with at the moment. This is huge area for development.

3. I’d do loads more things with text messages – except that I wouldn’t use text messages because they cost money, I’d use the email feature of Facebook. I’ve already blogged about using text messages on here and use them to give students ‘thinking homework’ click here to read that one, and sending students out on a treasure hunt using messages they recieve digitally to tell them what to do – click here to read that one. With smartphones linked to the internet, this would be quick and more importantly, free

4. I’d get students out of the classroom with a text to read from either Amazon’s Kindle store via their ap or through googledocs, or even their email. When they’ve read it they can come back. And… I’d get students to read comics on their phones as homework.

5. I’d have students download the ‘my tracks‘ app which would track their every move via satelitte. I’d ask them to record their movements for one full day and then upload the ‘track’ to googlemaps so they could share it with the rest of the students. In class I’d get them to explain what they did and where they went using the map as a presentation tool.

6. I’d make students play games together, I mean multiplayer games where they play at the same time. Stratergy games, platform games, farmville type games – anything as long as they play together and it makes them interact with each other in the target language either to tell  each other how to do it, or how to cheat.

7. I’d ask students to interview someone in English, record it, edit it with something like audacity and then present it to the rest of the group.

8. I’d get students to use the radio and  listen to the news/a radio play/ in English at a certain time, write down some information from it and then share what they learned with the class in the next lesson.

9. I’d get students to listen  to music, any type of music as long as it’s in English. They could share it with each other, talk about it, learn lyrics from songs and find out about the singers or the group. I’ve also blogged about using youtube in lessons and those ideas would work perfectly well on smartphones.

10. Finally…I’d call them. Sometimes during the lesson, sometimes for homework. I’d phone for a chat or to ask them their opinion or to tell me something they found out. I’d also ask them to phone each  other – as long as they spoke in English.

My prediction is this: a decent,cheap smartphone that is compatible with the internet and has all the features needed to work with a PC will be able to dominate the educational landscape of the future. Students buy and maintain the device but the books  and the materials that might be needed be them audio, video or text, are transmitted to this device by the educational institution. We would need paper of course but there wouldn’t be the need for nearly as much. The technology is here now.

Is there anyone out there who agrees…?

Is there anyone out there who wants to lend me a bunch of smartphones to teach my students with?  Please get in touch of you’ve got a project on this!

One comment

  1. Chris,

    I really like your ideas. My Japanese university students have so much technology in their hands and pockets; I’d like to use it to help them learn. My main push right now is spaced repetition, flashcard apps like Flashcard Elite (with quizlet.com) for iDevices and AnkiDroid for Android devices. I’m writing about it at my blog, http://www.teachingwithsmartphones.blogspot.com, if you want to join in!

    Cheers,

    Rich

Leave a Reply

