Valentine’s Day and Relationships – complete PowerPoint Lesson

Here’s the second edition of my complete lessons using only PowerPoint slides. Can’t be bothered to read the post? Get the lesson here

http://www.englishlanguagespacestation.com/powerpoint%20lessons/Relationships.pps

I think this lesson on relationships fits in really nicely with Valentine’s Day, especially since the audio features a lady dumping her boyfriend. It’s for pre-intermediate learners and should take about an hour. You only need the PowerPoint show above and working speakers to play the audio, students only need a pen and some paper.

Slide 2

Elicit different types of relationship from the class before you show the slide – mother, father etc. Now show the slide, students have to write their own explanation for each word.

Slide 3

Students match the phrasal verbs to the meaning.

Slide 4

Ask and annswer the pre-listening questions as a class before listening to the girl dumping her boyfriend. Students answer the gist question.

Slide 5

Now students listen again and answer the more detailed questions

Slide 6

Students ask and answer these questions in pairs or small groups. You can monitor and give feedback at the end.

Here’s the PowerPoint lesson again

http://www.englishlanguagespacestation.com/powerpoint%20lessons/Relationships.pps

You can find more lessons like this at http://www.englishlanguagespacestation.com/complete_PowerPoint_Lessons.htm

3 comments

  1. John Megill · · Reply

    Help! I must be doing something wrong. I downloaded and opened a couple of your Powerpoint files, but I can’t access the audio that goes along with some of the slides. Is there a way that I can open the audio files? I( examples – the files on Relationships and on Doctors).

    Thanks in advance. I really find your website useful. I tried the lesson on taking photographs and it worked very well with my students.

    1. Hi John, they seem to be broken at the moment, very sorry I can’t get them to work either.

      Sorry

      Chris

      1. John & Judy Megill · ·

        Chris Thanks for trying. If you able to sort things out so the audio files work, please let me know. I will periodically check the website. Much thanks

        John

        Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

